" Para Todo Mal, Mezcal y Para Todo Bien Tambien "

A Tequila Christmas #2 Agave Herring

I am pretty sure it is only Scandinavians that eat herring (sill, sild), not only for christmas, the tradition varies for the different Scandinavian countries. As far as I know it is only traditional to eat herring in Denmark during christmas, but in Sweden they eat it a few times a year. As a matter of fact the big tradition in Sweden is to eat herring during the midsummer celebration. The midsummer is a celebration of the longest day of the year, and the day varies a little bit, but it is usually the 20th or the 21st of june. Back to christmas. As I did mention in my last post, I did make it my mission to bring agave in different forms to the christmas table, and it might sound a bit far out, but taking Danish tradition serious, agave herring is a must on any Danish christmas table. Considering I have never made herring before I just followed my instincts as a bartender and made a very classic concoction and added something strong, sour, bitter and sweet. So far so good, I taste the marinade and as far as I am concerned, it tastes great, I am just clueless when I comes to how it mixes with this very particular fish. I wanted the herring to go well with the snaps I made and used some of the same ingredients. For sweetness I mixed Agavero (agave liqueur) and agave sirup with some of the “neutral” marinade the herring came in and I had my sauce base. As for strong I went with black pepper corn again, this time with a bit of red chili, and of course the alcohol adds a sharp note as well. Bitter tones of cloves and star anise and to finnish it of, and a sliced Mexican lime and half a bunch of coriander. As with the snaps, saturday is my judgment-day.

Viva La Tequila Vida!

Agave Herring

1 Jar of pickled herring cut in pieces of about one inch

1 Mexican lime

100ml Agavero

40ml Agavero

20-25 black pepper corns

1/2 inch sliced red chili

2 star anise

5 cloves

1/2 bunch of coriander

top the jar with some of the marinade from the herring

Leave a Reply

