" Para Todo Mal, Mezcal y Para Todo Bien Tambien "

Christmas Begins With A Bang

New traditions is always fun, and last year I introduced Tequila to the christmas table. This year I thought it was time for something a bit different, so me and the other Tequila heads in Copenhagen got together and made a mexican christmas table in honor af Guillermo Sauza and his fantastic work. Since the first time I laid eyes on a bottle of Los Abuelos I have had a special connection with it. It was the one bottle on the backbar we were not allowed to touch, which in theory sounds great, but tell that to a bartender and as soon as the bottle has been opened, it will get sampled, more than ones if the juice is exceptional. Of course we sampled it, but it was one of the bottles that made me proud to stand behind the bar, and back then we had to go to Mexico to pick one up. I did not sell it to just anyone, you had to deserve this one. Nowadays it is a bit more available, and the juice has stayed the same, some batches more preferable than others, but this all comes down to personal preference. This year I was very lucky when my good friend and fellow tequila geek told me he was going to the states just before christmas, and had found a shop where he could buy Los Abuelos. Which inspired us to fill this years christmas table with just that, bottles of Los Abuelos accompanied by fish tacos Mark “Mr Fish Taco” Alberto style!

When I drink amounts like this of great Tequila, it never hits me that I am drunk, which is quite interesting. We were drinking and chatting away for a good 10 hours, five bottles, four people, and it wasn’t until I woke up the next day that I realised I had been quite tipsy the day before. I get such a clear “high” from drinking this amazing Tequila, I can go on forever, well in this case we ran out of Juice so we had to polish off a Quita Penas Repo and finish off with a couple of glasses Quita Penas Blanco. After that much alcohol I should in theory not remember much, but most of it is still clear, until around the moment I started making my way home, which clearly was my mistake, I should have stayed for another one!

Having the opportunity to taste them all back to back, comparing batches was a great idea, and hopefully I will get the chance to do that all over again, maybe a different Tequila next time. If you can get your hands on a bottle, I would gladly recommend Reposado lote 11, that really made an impression on me.

Feliz Navidad Tres Mariachis Comrades!

One response

  1. Merlin Jerebine

    Dude! So jealous. Would’ve loved to be sitting at that table!!! Next time…

    December 10, 2011 at 06:13

Leave a Reply

